No media available

You Are Loved! (Mother’s Day)

Pastors Phil & Jannette Derstine 5-14-23


I Corinthians 13:4-8

·      Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

·      It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

·      Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.

·      It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

·      Love never fails.

·      Love is a choice… followed by an action… that you make everyday!


The 5 Love Languages book by Gary Chapman


1. Words of Affirmation

·      Verbal Compliments, Words of Appreciation, Encouragement, Affirmation

·      Be genuine and sincerely gracious with your tone of voice and body language.  Negative or insulting words are particularly hurtful.

·      “I love you… you always make me smile.”  “You work really hard for us, and we are so blessed.”  “I love spending time with you.”  “You’re doing such a great job. I’m really proud of you.”  “Wow… you look beautiful!  That dress is incredible on you.”

·      Proverbs 16:24 “Pleasant words are as a honeycomb, sweet to the soul, and health to the bones.”


2. Quality Time

·      Giving someone your undivided attention.

·      Spending intentional time; showing them you genuinely care.

·      Luke 10:39 – Mary chose quality time, sitting at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. (Martha was distracted by all the preparations)

·      Quality Conversation & Quality Activities.

·      Quality Time Wasters: Social Media (Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter)


3. Receiving Gifts

·      Tangible symbols of thoughtfulness, given with the right intention.

·      Gifts don’t always have to come with a high price tag.  Sometimes, the greatest gifts come unwrapped.

·      Surprises speak volumes, Timing is everything.

·      II Corinthians 9:7 “Every man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”


4. Acts of Service

·      Any act that eases the burden of responsibility.

·      Wash the dishes, pamper your spouse, offer “Let me do that for you.”

·      Matthew 20:28 “The Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve…”


5. Physical Touch

·      Hugs for Hellos and Goodbyes, Celebrate with a High Five.

·      Hold them when they are sad, Kiss their cheek or top of their head, Put your hand on their shoulder.

·      Mark 10:16 “And He (Jesus) took them up in. his arms, put his hands upon them, and blessed them.”